Center for Geographic Analysis Harvard University
Additional navigation

You are here

HT Fisher Prize

The Fisher Prize was established in 1999 to promote and reward student work in this broad and potentially interdisciplinary area, from both undergraduate and graduate students at Harvard University. Howard Taylor Fisher, geographer and mathematical cartographer, founded the Laboratory for Computer Graphics and Spatial Analysis (LCGSA) at the GSD in 1965 where he developed the synegraphic mapping system (SYMAP).

The prize is jointly administered by the Center for Geographic Analysis (CGA) and the Harvard Graduate School of Design (GSD), funded by a gift from Jack Dangermond (MLA 1969), President of Environmental Systems Research Institute (ESRI) Inc., the world leading company in GIS (geographic information system) modeling and mapping software and technology. The Technical Advisory Committee for CGA, chaired by Dr. Stephen Ervin, Assistant Dean of the GSD, oversees the award process each year.

Fisher Prize Award Competition, 2017

Application Deadline  Monday 24 April 2017

The 2017 Fisher Prize for excellence in GIS will be given to one graduate and one undergraduate student who must be enrolled in the academic year 2016-2017 and in good standing to be considered for the award.  Group projects are allowed - just submit as one entry.  The Prize is a cash award of $500 each given to the top undergraduate and graduate entries.

The deadline for submissions is 11:59 p.m. on Monday, April 24, 2017.

Submission Requirements

Subscribe to RSS - HT Fisher Prize